P.M. Belliappa Coorg Person of the Year 2011

pmb award pic

Mr P.M. Belliappa, a retired IAS officer of Tamil Nadu, who was decorated early this year with the Most Excellent Order of the ‘Member of the British Empire (MBE)’ by the Queen of England is the ‘Coorg Person of the Year 2011’.

 Pemanda Monappa Belliappa was given the MBE award for his contribution towards improving the Indo-U.K. relationship, especially in his capacity as President of the Association of British Scholars (ABS), over many years.

 Mr Belliappa was selected ‘Coorg Person of the Year’ in a poll conducted among the members of www.coorgtourisminfo.com, a news portal of Kodagu (Coorg).

 Presenting the MBE award, Mike Nitharvrianakis, British Deputy High Commissioner in southern India, had said that the award was in recognition of Mr. Belliappa’s services to environmental protection and for promoting Indo-U.K. alumni relations.

 Mr Belliappa, in his 35-year-long service in the IAS, had occupied important posts, starting as District Collector and also held the posts of head of the National Hydro Electric Corporation of India and the Chairman and Managing Director of the Rural Electrification Corporation of India.

 He was leader and member of several Indian delegations to ESCAP, UNIDO, World Bank and other leading international institutions. He served as Chairman of International Workshop on “Clean Technologies” organized by the Regional Institute of  Environmental Technology (R.I.E.T.) Singapore, a European Union sponsored institution.

 He established the ‘Pemanda Monappa Scholarship’ in perpetuity, in Cambridge University in the name of his late father, Pemanda Monappa, former Karnataka Inspector General of Police, which will enable one student from the southern states of India to pursue a Masters course.

 Mr Belliappa has Masters degrees in both Economics and English, and also a law degree. He was a Research Fellow at the Centre for South Asian Studies, Cambridge University and also obtained a Diploma in Development Administration from Manchester University, United Kingdom.

 Among the others who were nominated for this year’s ‘Coorg Person of the Year 2011’, include, M.C. Nanaiah, MLC, N.U. Nachappa, the head of the Codava National Council, Ashwini Ponnappa, badminton champion, and Sarita Mandanna, author.

The past winners of the ‘Coorg Person of the Year’ are Dr Kavery Nambisan, novelist, 2005; Dr Boverianda Nanjamma Chinnappa, researcher, 2006; Robin Uthappa, cricketer, 2007; Dr Moodera Jagadeesh Subbaiah , scientist, 2008; Air Marshal K.C. Cariappa, Retd., environmentalist, 2009; Tennis player Rohan Bopanna, 2010.

 The news portal www.coorgtourisminfo.com has been promoted by senior journalist and author P.T. Bopanna.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *